Color code finder

This is a simple tool created with some HTML and JavaScript to pick different color codes of colors. Let us try to understand the different color codes.


A Hex color code, or hexadecimal color code, is a way of representing colors in web design and computing using a base-16 numbering system. It is a combination of six characters, preceded by a hash (#). Each character in the hex code represents a different component of the color.

The hex code is typically used in web development, especially in HTML and CSS, to specify colors for elements on a webpage. The six characters in the hex code represent the intensity of red, green, and blue (RGB) components in the color. Each pair of characters corresponds to one of these components, with values ranging from 00 to FF in hexadecimal (equivalent to 0 to 255 in decimal).

The format of a hex color code is #RRGGBB, where:

  • RR represents the intensity of red,
  • GG represents the intensity of green, and
  • BB represents the intensity of blue.

For example:

  • #FF0000 represents pure red.
  • #00FF00 represents pure green.
  • #0000FF represents pure blue.
  • #FFFFFF represents white.
  • #000000 represents black.

Each pair of characters in the hex code can have 256 possible values (0 to 255), resulting in a wide range of colors that can be represented using hex codes.

In addition to the six-character hex code, there is also an abbreviated three-character version where each pair of characters is duplicated. For example, #F00 is equivalent to #FF0000 and represents pure red. Hex color codes provide a concise and widely supported way to define colors in various applications, making them a standard in web design and development.


RGB stands for Red, Green, and Blue, and it refers to a color model where colors are defined by the intensity of these three primary colors. In the RGB color model, colors are created by combining different amounts of red, green, and blue light. Each color channel can have an intensity value ranging from 0 to 255, where 0 represents no intensity, and 255 represents full intensity.

The RGB color code is typically expressed as a set of three integers or decimal values, each representing the intensity of the red, green, and blue channels. The format is usually in the form of “rgb(255, 0, 0)”, where the first value represents red, the second represents green, and the third represents blue.

For example:

  • rgb(255, 0, 0) represents pure red.
  • rgb(0, 255, 0) represents pure green.
  • rgb(0, 0, 255) represents pure blue.
  • rgb(255, 255, 255) represents white.
  • rgb(0, 0, 0) represents black.

Intermediate colors are achieved by mixing different intensities of red, green, and blue. For example, rgb(255, 255, 0) represents yellow because it is a combination of full-intensity red and green with no blue.

In addition to the RGB color code, there is also an RGBA color code, where an additional parameter represents the alpha channel, indicating the level of transparency. The alpha channel value ranges from 0 (completely transparent) to 1 (completely opaque). For example, rgba(255, 0, 0, 0.5) represents semi-transparent red.

RGB is widely used in digital media, including web development and graphic design, to define and display colors on electronic screens.


HSL stands for Hue, Saturation, and Lightness. It is a color representation model that defines colors based on these three components. The HSL color code is expressed using three values:

  • Hue (H): This represents the type of color, expressed as an angle between 0 and 360 degrees on the color wheel. Different values of hue correspond to different colors. For example, red is often around 0 degrees, green is around 120 degrees, and blue is around 240 degrees.
  • Saturation (S): This represents the intensity or vividness of the color and is expressed as a percentage. A saturation of 0% results in a grayscale color, while 100% saturation is the most vivid expression of the hue.
  • Lightness (L): This represents the brightness of the color and is also expressed as a percentage. A lightness of 0% is black, 100% is white, and 50% is normal brightness.

The HSL color model is often used in web development and design because it provides a more intuitive way of picking and adjusting colors compared to other models like RGB (Red, Green, Blue) or HEX. CSS3 introduced support for HSL in specifying colors, allowing developers to use HSL values directly in their stylesheets.

Here’s an example of how an HSL color code looks:

color: hsl(120, 100%, 50%);

In this example:

  • Hue: 120 degrees (green on the color wheel)
  • Saturation: 100%
  • Lightness: 50%

This represents a fully saturated, medium-brightness green color. Adjusting the values of H, S, and L allows you to explore a wide range of colors.